Body Postitivity

Shut Up and Love Yourself

I used this phrase in my last rant video. If you don’t decide to watch (which why would you not? That is prime Andreya being amazing right there) it was basically me being upset at people who self-deprecate, people who degrade and put themselves down because they are unhappy with their bodies and the way they look.

I saw this photo: 

And it kind of set me off. I downed a whole bottle of wine and laid down the truth. To know the full details *whispers* you gotta watch the video.

I ended it with “Shut up and love yourself.” I didn’t really give it a second thought; it was just something I said. However, I was talking to a friend later after she watched my videos and I guess that phrase really hit her. She suggested it be the embodiment of the body positivity message that I am beginning to spread. It makes sense. It’s short, sweet, blunt, and says everything you to know. What once was a throwaway phrase might end up on a T-shirt one day. (I mean, I’m sure it is probably on a T-shirt already, but that one doesn’t have my face on it, does it?)

When I started my Youtube channel, I was afraid to be put in a box. I didn’t want to be just a weight loss blogger or just a body positivity advocate. I have more to offer than that, but for now, I think those subjects are more important to me than trying to come up with funny skits that will be of less social importance than the message of self love.

Don’t get me wrong, I will be throwing in some curveballs from time to time. I like a good balance, but for now, I think I want to focus on what is important to me – loving myself and helping others accept themselves as well.

So if you are one of those people who are so insecure and self conscious of your body that you let it consume your entire being, this is for you: just shut up and love yourself.

Leave a Reply

